Latest News

Our Stories

Michael Wong and Pedro Alvarez headshots

ACS recognizes Wong, Alvarez for fracking byproduct 'produced water' Monday, Nov. 9, 2020

Rice pair with Shell collaborator receive Greater Houston Section's P3 Salute to Excellence Award.

Future Faculty Fellows headshots

Rice Engineering awards Future Faculty Fellowships to students, postdocs pursuing academic careers Thursday, Nov. 5, 2020

Second-year program will help prepare fellows for interviews and enhance teaching skills.

Data Science Conference screen shot

Ken Kennedy Institute conference explores how COVID-19 has influenced the use of data Wednesday, Nov. 4, 2020

Annual Data Science Conference at Rice goes virtual to more than 300 leaders from industry and academia.

At Your Cervix team

Rice team takes first prize in NIHF's Collegiate Inventors Competition Tuesday, Nov. 3, 2020

At Your Cervix won for their UFO device, which helps guide needles carrying radiation seeds directly to late-stage cervical tumors.

Bilal Ghosn

How Bilal Ghosn teaches engineering design and empathy Monday, Oct. 26, 2020

The bioengineering lecturer applies engineering principles to the lives of people with disabilities.

Lynn Laverty Elsenhans speaking to George Webb

RCEL course allows students to explore career options with industry leaders Thursday, Oct. 22, 2020

Lynn Laverty Elsenhans '78 among guests to share advice with class.

Marcia O'Malley

O'Malley named ASME's Dynamic Systems and Controls Division Nyquist Lecturer for 2020 Thursday, Oct. 15, 2020

Haptics: A Hot Topic with Controls at its Core' lecture delivered during Oct.5-7 conference.

Satish Nagarajaiah

Civil engineers Nagarajaiah, Erazo awarded IASCM's Takuji Kobori Prize Wednesday, Oct. 14, 2020

Pair recognized for their paper 'Bayesian structural identification of a hysteretic negative stiffness earthquake protection system using unscented Kalman filtering.'

Gilda Barabino

No longer on the outside looking in Monday, Oct. 12, 2020

Gilda Barabino '86 used her experience as a black female engineer to become president of Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering.