Body

Undergraduate Advising

Adivsing Booklet

This Advising Booklet is intended to give first-year undergraduate engineering students an overview of the undergraduate degree programs in the School of Engineering. It includes some general advice and contact information along with degree summaries and sample degree plans for each engineering degree. The degree summaries and sample plans will help you compare majors and provide a starting point for mapping out your own course schedule.

Note: The booklet is intended as a supplement to, not a replacement for, other department advising materials. Although we have worked hard to make this booklet as accurate as possible, the information in the General Announcements is the final authority on degree requirements and academic regulations at Rice.

Download the Fall 2020 Advising Booklet.

Major Advisors

Bioengineering

  • Bilal Ghosn (transfers) bghosn@rice.edu Ext. 2648
  • Sabia Adibi sabia.z.abidi@rice.edu Ext. 8362
  • David Li davidli@rice.edu Ext. 7461
  • Ka-Yiu San ksan@rice.edu Ext. 5361
  • Renata Ramos rfr1@rice.edu Ext. 2203

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

  • Ken Cox (transfers) krcox@rice.edu Ext. 3529
  • Walter Chapman wgchap@rice.edu Ext. 4900
  • Thomas Senftle tsentfle@rice.edu Ext. 4714
  • Gerald McGlamery gm35@rice.edu Ext. 4242
  • Kyriacos Zygourakis kyzy@rice.edu Ext. 5208
  • Amanda Marciel am152@rice.edu Ext. 7231

Civil and Environmental Engineering

  • Phil Bedient bedient@rice.edu Ext. 4953
  • Leonardo Dueñas-Osorio leonardo.duenas-osorio@rice.edu Ext. 5292
  • Satish Nagarajaiah nagaraja@rice.edu Ext. 6207
  • Mason Tomson mtomson@rice.edu Ext. 6048

Computational and Applied Mathematics

  • Jesse Chan jesse.chan@rice.edu Ext. 6113
  • Keith Cooper keith@rice.edu Ext. 6013
  • Andrew Schaefer andrew.schaefer@rice.edu Ext. 4178

Computer Science

  • Alan Cox alc@rice.edu Ext. 5730
  • Scott Cutler cutler@rice.edu Ext. 2526
  • Risa Myers risamyers@rice.edu Ext. 2065
  • David Johnson dbj@rice.edu Ext. 3063
  • Swarat Chaudhuri swarat.chaudhuri@rice.edu Ext. 6314
  • Stephen Wong swong@rice.edu Ext. 3814
  • Devika Subramanian devika@rice.edu Ext. 5661

Electrical and Computer Engineering

  • Gary Woods (transfers) gary.woods@rice.edu Ext. 3598
  • Caleb Kemere caleb.kemere@rice.edu Ext. 6089
  • Santiago Segarra segarra@rice.edu Ext. 3561
  • Ray Simar ray.simar@rice.edu Ext. 2257
  • Peter Varman pjv@rice.edu Ext. 3990
  • Chong Xie chongxie@rice.edu Ext. 8737

Materials Science and NanoEngineering

  • Edwin Thomas elt@rice.edu Ext. 3086
  • Zachary Cordero Zachary.cordero@rice.edu Ext. 2904
  • Peter Loos ploos@rice.edu Ext. 4681

Mechanical Engineering

  • Matthew Elliott me26@rice.edu Ext. 2082
  • Fathi Ghorbel ghorbel@rice.edu Ext. 3738
  • Eleazar Marquez eleazar.marquez@rice.edu Ext. 3318
  • Andrew Meade meade@rice.edu Ext. 5880

Statistics

  • Philip Ernst philip.ernst@rice.edu Ext. 2797

Divisional Advisors

  • Baker: Matthew Elliott me26@rice.edu Ext. 2082
  • Brown: Eleazar Marquez eleazarmarquez@rice.edu Ext. 3318
  • Duncan: Gary Woods gary.woods@rice.edu Ext. 3598
  • Hanszen: Matthew Wettergreen mwettergreen@rice.edu Ext. 2043
  • Jones: Gene Frantz genf@rice.edu Ext. 2839
  • Lovett: Lisa Biswall biswal@rice.edu Ext. 6055
  • Martel: Ray Simar ray.simar@rice.edu Ext. 2257
  • McMurtry: Christopher Jermaine cmj4@rice.edu Ext. 5690
  • Sid Rich: Rafael Verduzco rafaelv@rice.edu Ext. 6492
  • Wiess: Renata Ramos renata.ramos@rice.edu Ext. 2203
  • Will Rice: Marya Cokar marya.cokar@rice.edu Ext. 4073