Body

Undergraduate Advising

Advising Booklet

This Advising Booklet is intended to give first-year undergraduate engineering students an overview of the undergraduate degree programs in the School of Engineering. It includes some general advice and contact information along with degree summaries and sample degree plans for each engineering degree. The degree summaries and sample plans will help you compare majors and provide a starting point for mapping out your own course schedule.

Note: The booklet is intended as a supplement to, not a replacement for, other department advising materials. Although we have worked hard to make this booklet as accurate as possible, the information in the General Announcements is the final authority on degree requirements and academic regulations at Rice.

Download the Fall 2022 Advising Booklet.

 

Past Issues

 

Major Advisors

 

Bioengineering

  • Sabia Adibi sabia.z.abidi@rice.edu Ext. 8362
  • Bilal Ghosn (transfers) bghosn@rice.edu Ext. 2648
  • James Long james.long@rice.edu Ext.
  • Renata Ramos rfr1@rice.edu Ext. 2203
  • Robert Raphael rraphael@rice.edu Ext. 3494
  • Ka-Yiu San ksan@rice.edu Ext. 5361
  • Laura Segatori segatori@rice.edu Ext. 2203

 

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

  • Walter Chapman wgchap@rice.edu Ext. 4900
  • Ken Cox (transfers) krcox@rice.edu Ext. 3529
  • Amanda Marciel am152@rice.edu Ext. 7231
  • Gerald McGlamery gm35@rice.edu Ext. 4242
  • Thomas Senftle tsentfle@rice.edu Ext. 4714
  • Ross Thyer ross.thyer@rice.edu Ext.
  • Kyriacos Zygourakis kyzy@rice.edu Ext. 5208

 

Civil and Environmental Engineering

  • Phil Bedient bedient@rice.edu Ext. 4953
  • Leonardo Dueñas-Osorio leonardo.duenas-osorio@rice.edu Ext. 5292
  • Satish Nagarajaiah nagaraja@rice.edu Ext. 6207
  • Mason Tomson mtomson@rice.edu Ext. 6048

 

Computational and Applied Mathematics

  • Jesse Chan jesse.chan@rice.edu Ext. 6113
  • Andrew Schaefer andrew.schaefer@rice.edu Ext. 4178

 

Computer Science

  • Alan Cox alc@rice.edu Ext. 5730
  • Scott Cutler cutler@rice.edu Ext. 2526
  • Rodrigo Ferreira f29@rice.edu Ext. 4834
  • David Johnson dbj@rice.edu Ext. 3063
  • Risa Myers risamyers@rice.edu Ext. 2065
  • Rebecca Smith rjs@rice.edu Ext. 7546
  • Devika Subramanian devika@rice.edu Ext. 5661
  • Stephen Wong swong@rice.edu Ext. 3814

 

Electrical and Computer Engineering

  • Joseph Cavallaro (transfers) cavallar@rice.edu Ext. 4719
  • Caleb Kemere caleb.kemere@rice.edu Ext. 6089
  • Santiago Segarra segarra@rice.edu Ext. 3561
  • John Seymour seymourjp@rice.edu Ext. 8724
  • Ray Simar ray.simar@rice.edu Ext. 2257
  • Peter Varman pjv@rice.edu Ext. 3990
  • Gary Woods gary.woods@rice.edu Ext. 3598

 

Materials Science and NanoEngineering

  • Yimo Han  yh76@rice.edu Ext. 6033
  • Hanyu Zhu  hz67@rice.edu Ext. 2582

 

Mechanical Engineering

  • Peter Lillehoj lillehoj@rice.edu@rice.edu Ext. 7344
  • David Trevas dat@rice.edu Ext. 3318

 

Statistics

  • Elizabeth McGuffey elizabeth.mcguffey@rice.edu Ext. 6032

 

Divisional Advisors

  • Baker: Matthew Elliott me26@rice.edu Ext. 2082
  • Baker: Kalil Erazo kalil.erazo@rice.edu Ext. 3798
  • Brown: Sabia Adibi sabia.z.abidi@rice.edu
  • Duncan: Arko Barman arko.barman@rice.edu 
  • Duncan: Mac Joyner mjoyner@rice.edu Ext. 4397
  • Hanszen: Matthew Wettergreen mwettergreen@rice.edu Ext. 2043
  • Hanszen: John Greiner greiner@rice.edu Ext. 3838
  • Jones: Gene Frantz genf@rice.edu Ext. 2839
  • Jones: Bilal Ghosn (transfers) bghosn@rice.edu Ext. 2648
  • Lovett: Lisa Biswal biswal@rice.edu Ext. 6055
  • Lovett: Vicky Yao vy@rice.edu Ext. 4325
  • Martel: Michael Diehl diehl@rice.edu Ext. 4568
  • Martel: Ray Simar ray.simar@rice.edu Ext. 2257
  • McMurtry: Geoff Wehmeyer geoff.wehmayer@rice.edu Ext. 2130
  • McMurtry: Gary Woods gary.woods@rice.edu Ext. 3598
  • Sid Rich: David Trevas dat@rice.edu Ext. 3318
  • Sid Rich: Rafael Verduzco rafaelv@rice.edu Ext. 6492
  • Wiess: Renata Ramos renata.ramos@rice.edu Ext. 2203
  • Wiess: Rebecca Schreib rjs@rice.edu Ext.
  • Will Rice: Daniel Cohan cohan@rice.edu Ext. 5129    
  • Will Rice: Joseph Young joseph.young Ext.

 

Apply to Rice

All prospective undergraduate students should apply through Rice University's Office of Admission. They can also help you schedule a visit to campus.

Learn more about how to Apply to Rice University.