Rice Engineering students, alumni awarded NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

Fellowships are intended to develop the next generation of scientists and engineers through the support of their graduate education

NSF GRFP logos

The National Science Foundation has awarded 19 Graduate Research Fellowships to students and alumni in the George R. Brown School of Engineering at Rice University.

The fellowships are intended to develop the next generation of scientists and engineers through the support of their graduate education. Fellows are given three years of financial support within a five-year fellowship period, including a $34,000 annual stipend and a $12,000 cost-of-education allowance to the graduate institution.

The funds are intended for graduate study that leads to a research-based master’s or doctoral degree in a STEM field.

Another four students or alumni earned honorable mentions in this year’s awards.

“Rice congratulates our fellows and honorable mentions,” said Seiichi Matsuda, dean of graduate and postdoctoral studies. “The students recognized in this competition have worked hard and have achieved at the highest levels. It is a joy and a privilege to work with them.”

All graduate students and postdoctoral researchers who have won external fellowships will be honored at GPS’ annual Take the Cake event in the fall, where they will receive a cake to share with their research groups. Students can report fellowship wins at

Current Rice Engineering undergraduates and alumni:

  • Leslie Arrazolo - chemical engineering
  • Joshua Holder - mechanical engineering
  • Min Jung Kim - chemical engineering and chemistry
  • Lilith Liang - bioengineering
  • Martin Torres - civil engineering
  • Alisa Webb - mechanical engineering

Current undergraduate/incoming graduate students:

  • Amelia Peeples - environmental engineering
  • Allison Price - environmental engineering

Current and incoming graduate students:

  • Ellie Chen - electrical and computer engineering
  • Jeremy Daum - materials science and nanoengineering
  • Gabriela Franco - bioengineering
  • Zina Helal - bioengineering
  • Devon Kulhanek - chemical and biomolecular engineering
  • Jessica Persaud - chemical and biomolecular engineering
  • Neethu Pottackal - materials science and nanoengineering
  • William Schmid - electrical and computer engineering
  • Sanjna Sukumaran - materials science and nanoengineering
  • Catherine Tuppen - electrical and computer engineering
  • Andrew Walters - bioengineering

Honorable mention:

Graduate students:

  • Alianna Maguire - materials science and nanoengineering
  • Sherina Malkani - bioengineering


  • John Tianci Li - materials science and nanoengineering
  • Joycelyn Yiu - bioengineering