Pearson named to ABET Engineering Accreditation Commission

Rice associate dean has been a program evaluator for the EAC since 2013.

Yvette E. Pearson

Yvette E. Pearson, the associate dean for accreditation, assessment and strategic initiatives in the George R. Brown School of Engineering, has been named a member of the ABET Engineering Accreditation Commission (EAC).

ABET is the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology, the agency that accredits more than 4,000 engineering, computing, engineering technology, and applied and natural science programs in 32 countries. Six programs in the engineering school at Rice are accredited by the EAC of ABET. Pearson has been appointed to represent the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) as a commissioner on the EAC.

Since 2013, Pearson has been a program evaluator for the EAC. She is a Fellow of the ASCE and was the 2019 recipient of ABET’s Claire L. Felbinger Award for Diversity and Inclusion. Her five-year term as an EAC commissioner begins in July.