Rice University logo
Top blue bar image


Bayazitoglu honored by ASME and SWE


Yildiz Bayazitoglu, the Harry S. Cameron Chair Professor in Mechanical Engineering at Rice University, has been doubly recognized for her “distinctive contributions” to engineering by being elected an honorary member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and receiving the highest honor given by the Society of Women Engineers (SWE).


Yildiz has extraordinary record of student mentorship and creative work in heat transfer. These recognitions are well deserved and indicate the quality of our faculty at Rice,” said Andrew Meade, professor and chair of mechanical engineering and materials science.

Honorary membership is the highest honor bestowed by the ASME Board of Governors, who wrote in their citation to Bayazitoglu: “For outstanding contributions in transforming fundamental research to engineering applications such as photo-thermal cancer therapy, space waste-heat recovery and nano-composite materials processing; for dedicated service to engineering societies; and for being an inspirational mentor to women and minority engineers.”

Bayazitoglu is also receiving SWE’s 2012 Achievement Award, its highest honor. The award is presented annually to a woman who has made an “outstanding contribution over a significant period of time in a field of engineering.”

“Making Yildiz an honorary member of ASME is a well-deserved recognition by her peers. She epitomizes across-the-board excellence and accomplishment in teaching, research and service. She is a hard worker, a valued colleague and a dedicated pioneer as a mentor to women engineering students and junior faculty. SWE is rightly recognizing her strong commitment,” said Michael Carroll, the Burton J. and Ann M. McMurtry Professor in Mechanical Engineering and an honorary member of ASME since 1999.

Bayazitoglu, a native of Turkey, received her Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from the University of Michigan in 1974, and joined the Rice faculty in 1977. She holds five patents, has published almost 200 peer-reviewed articles in technical journals and authored an undergraduate textbook, Elements of HeatTransfer, published by McGraw-Hill. A Textbook on Heat Transfer Fundamentals is in press with Begell House. In 2004, she received the ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award and in 1997 the SWE Distinguished Educator Award.

At Rice she has been the recipient of several teaching, mentoring and research awards, including the George R. Brown Award for Superior Teaching in 1999, Hershel M. Rich Outstanding Invention Award in 2002, Graduate Student Association Faculty Teaching/Mentoring Award in 2002, the Julia Mile Chance Prize for Excellence in Teaching in 2003 and the Rice University Presidential Mentoring Award in 2005. She serves as an editor-in-chief of the International Journal ofThermal Sciences published by Elsevier.

Bayazitoglu will be formally inducted Nov. 12 during the Honors Assembly at the ASME 2012 International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition in Houston. She will be recognized at SWE’s awards banquet at the WE12 Conference in Houston on Nov. 9.