Rice University logo
Top blue bar image

Scholarly Accomplishments 2009-10

Faculty Scholarly Accomplishments
George R. Brown School of Engineering 2009-10 


Michael Deem,Elected BMES Fellow

Rebecca Richards-Kortum,
Pritzker Distinguished Scientist and Lecturer, Biomedical Engineering Society

Tony Mikos,
2010 ASEE Meriam/Wiley Distinguished Author Award, with co-author Johnna S. Temenoff
Distinguished Scientist Award – Isaac Schour Memorial Award, International Association for Dental Research
Elected Fellow of BMES

Junghae Suh, 

Jennifer West, Celebrating Women in Science Award, from BioHouston, Inc.

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Pedro Alvarez, Inducted into Nicaraguan Academy of Sciences

Philip Bedient
2008 Diplomate – Water Resources Engineer, American Academy of Water Resources Engineers

Dan Cohan,

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Lisa Biswal, NSF CAREER Award

Walter Chapman
Donald L. Katz Award, by Gas Processors Association

Ramon Gonzalez
Hamill Innovations Award (with Michael Wong and Joff Silberg)                                                
2010 SDA/NBB Glycerine Innovation Research Award

Michael Wong,
Hamill Innovations Award (with Ramon Gonzalez and Joff Silberg)

Computational and Applied Mathematics

The Department of Computational and Applied Mathematics has been honored by the American Mathematical Society for its efforts that have encouraged and supported mathematics students, and have  provided a mathematical environment in which talented minority students attain the highest level of mathematics education.

Liliana Borcea, NSA Research Professorship at MSRI

Mark Embree,
Outstanding Faculty Associate, Will Rice College

Dan Sorensen,
Elected Fellow of Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics

Richard Tapia,
2009 Hispanic Heritage Math and Science Award, given by the President of the U.S., at the White House

Computer Science

Alan Cox, Michael Pearlman Memorial Award

Kavraki, Elected Fellow of Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence

Luay Nakhleh
2010 Sloan Research Fellowship

Ng, 2009 IBM Faculty Award

, W. Wallace McDowell Award, from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers’ Computer Society

Vivek Sarkar
Outstanding Faculty Associate, Weiss College
IBM X 10 Faculty Award

Moshe Vardi
2010 Distinguished Service Award, from the Computing Research Association
Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Outstanding Contributions to ACM Award 

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Richard Baraniuk, Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
World Technology Network Award for Education winner,

Jun Kono,
Elected Fellow of the Council of the American Physical Society
Office of Naval Research Young Investigators Award

Farinaz Koushanfar,
2009 Frontiers of Engineering of the National Academy of Engineering Invitee
Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award

Jim Young,
Outstanding Faculty Associate, Martel College

Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science

Yildiz Bayazitoglu, Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Brent Houchens,
Salgo Award

Boris Yakobson,
Elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
The Royal Society Visiting Professorship Award


Sallie Keller, John V. Atanasoff Research and Discovery Award, Iowa State University

Javier Rojo,
ASA 2010 Don Owen Award

Faculty Scholarly Accomplishments 2008-09